ALBUM REVIEW: The New Pornographers – Brill Bruisers


Artist: The New Pornographers
Album: Brill Bruisers
Release Date: August 25
Rating: 4 / 5

Canadian supergroup The New Pornographers make a triumphant return with their sixth album Brill Bruisers. Although its been four years since Together, The New Pornographers have managed to follow up the 2010 release with yet another mellifluous album to add to their repertoire.

With the attention grabbing title track Brill Bruisers, The New Pornographers reaffirm their mastery of power pop and consistently strong album openers. Each track flawlessly flows into the next, making this solid album all the more spirited with its exuberant keyboard melodies and heavy guitar riffs.

The vocal stylings of A.C. Newman, Neko Case, Dan Bejar, and Kathryn Calder found throughout their latest endeavor is just as harmonious as albums past. The blissful one minute and twenty-eight seconds of “Another Drug Deal of the Heart,” sung by Kathryn Calder, is at the center of the album as though to take a breather before the wistful “Born With a Sound” led by Dan Bejar.

The New Pornographers have successfully maintained the charm that began with their debut Mass Romantic, while making their sound refreshing. Brill Bruisers is an album full of excellent tunes that are sure to linger.

Notable Tracks: “Champions of Red Wine,” “War On the East Coast,” “Marching Orders,” “Born With a Sound,” and “Dancehall Domine”

Visit The New Pornographers’ official site for the latest news and tour dates:

Watch the official video for “War On The East Coast” below:

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s